Best Way to Traverse JSON

Options
Logan_136080
Logan_136080 Posts: 5
edited July 2020 in Questions

Hey All,
I'm pretty new to catalytic and am still learning my way around the best modules for situations. I have worked with other automation software and built javascript apps. In other apps traversing JSON has been pretty straight forward but I'm having a hard time getting it to work the way I want in Catalytic. For instance, anytime I have a JSON that contains an object or array that object or array is put into a table automatically so I have to access the table instead of tapping into the JSON directly. I'm trying to learn to use the field formulas module to use JS to interact with fields but am still learning how to use JS within catalytic. The current issue I'm running into is I get a JSON response back that contains an array of 3 objects. In all situations, I just want to grab the first object and grab the ID data from that first object. I tried just using the field formula module with JS to do so and it didn't work. When I tried to use the lookup column field It was a struggle because there isn't a unique value for me to search by. I just need to grab the first record.
Example of the JSON

[
{"id":"13769","recordtype":"customer"},
{"id":"14709","recordtype":"customer"},
{"id":"14817","recordtype":"customer"}
]

I'm sure a lot of this is just being new to the system and not knowing the best modules and syntax to use for catalytic in order to work with JSON so I'm looking forward to hearing back and getting some tips!

tl;dr:

• What are the best tips for working with JSON in catalytic?
  • With Catalytic, how do I grab the first item of an array when I don't have a unique value to grab it from the table it's put into.

Answers

• Jeff_146001
    Jeff_146001 Posts: 296 admin
    edited July 2020
    Options

@Logan_136080 Good question! Given your development background, I'm going to give you a couple different options: